Jazzfan

Jazzfan

At a glance

Skills

  • Database / CRM development
  • General / operations management
  • HR
  • Project / programme management
  • Mentoring / Coaching
  • Teaching / Education
  • Training

Where

Based in London (East)
I would prefer to volunteer mainly at the office

Time

Either in or out of office hours

I could commit to a mutually convenient few hours per week arranged on a monthly basis. Any time is convenient. 

Causes

  • Black, asian and minority ethnic groups
  • Children / families
  • Community safety / victim support / domestic violence
  • Counselling / advice
  • Criminal justice
  • Education
  • Emergency Services / Armed Forces
  • Financial inclusion
  • Health and well being / research and care
  • Housing and homelessness
  • Human rights
  • Learning disabilities / difficulties
  • Lesbian, gay, bisexual & transgender
  • Local / community
  • Men
  • Mental health
  • Museums / heritage
  • Older people / later life
  • Physical disabilities
  • Poverty relief
  • Refugees / migrants
  • Social care
  • Substance misuse
  • Training / employment support
  • Voluntary sector support
  • Women
  • Young people

Type of role

Ongoing role

Work history

  • Download CV

About me

Experience

Until my retirement,  I was employed for most of my working life as head of a science department in a Dagenham comprehensive school. As well as leading the largest department in the school, this involved teaching Science whilst specialising in Physics up to A level.

Skills

  • Management - I successfully led a team of 15 teaching and non-teaching staff over many years. I introduced many innovations to teaching styles and content, successfully delegating tasks and monitoring implementation.
  • IT -I used Excel, Word and Powerpoint, on a daily basis. This included designing and manipulating spreadsheets, documents and presentations for department and whole-school use.
  • Interpersonal -  I always dealt with a range of staff problems, both personal and work-related, in a sensitive and effective manner.
    I have taught a range of ages (11-18), abilities (from those statemented as having special needs of various types to Oxbridge candidates) and ethnicities (over 50 languages spoken by students, some arriving with no knowledge of English). I was able to empathise and communicate well with the whole range.

What am I looking for

An ideal opportunity would involve interaction with either children or adults. I would be happy to teach or coach anything, for example IT, Maths, or Reading, or work in a different context, for example with those with mental health difficulties. Selfish as it might seem, I am not ready to undertake anything involving a commitment to the same time each week or to be available to the same person on a long term basis. I am taking advantage of my retirement to travel and have occasionally been abroad for 7 or 8 weeks. However, I can commit to working an average amount of time each month arranged on a monthly basis.