SimonL_4

SimonL_4

At a glance

Skills

  • Business development / Sales
  • Strategic development and planning
  • General / operations management
  • Mentoring / Coaching
  • Training

Where

Based in Birmingham, West Midlands
I would prefer to volunteer mainly at home, or will consider remote opportunities from across the UK.

Time

Either in or out of office hours

Up to 20 hours per week. My baby is due 2nd June so unavailable for 2 weeks after they are born but can scale hours back up soon after.

Causes

  • Any

Type of role

Ongoing role, Short term project, Trustee/Governor

Work history

About me

I have spent the last 8.5 years in recruitment, winning projects through business development and building a team up to 19 people.

As a leader I would train, coach and mentor my colleagues, empowering them to contribute to the strategic vision of our team which I had set in collaboration with them. I would also support them emotionally and personally to ensure that they felt mentally strong and well so that they could achieve what they wanted in or outside of the workplace

As a sales person I have won large projects from small and international businesses. This was achieved by proactively identifying decision makers and approaching them to understand their needs and tell our story to demonstrate value.

I found helping people the most gratifying part of my previous role. I would help my team, customers and was part of the wellbeing task force that led initiatives to promote wellbeing in finance, diet and mental health. I was part of the committee that organised fundraising activities leading to £10,000 raised for Great Ormond Street Hospital.

I would be most useful for proactive fundraising/business development, phone based support and recruiting more volunteers/staff but I am fit and can drive so am happy to do anything that is required.

What am I looking for

Since stopping work in January I have decided to take much of this year off as we are expecting our first baby in June. However I am not willing to sit idle, particularly while so many people need help, I can give up to 20 hours/week.

I am interested in fundraising, deliveries, phone based support (checking in on vulnerable people etc) but am open to all discussions with good causes.