Robin Garms

Robin Garms

At a glance

Skills

  • Digital strategy
  • Website design
  • Advertising
  • Copywriting / journalism
  • Graphic design

Where

Based in London, London (Central)
I would prefer to volunteer mainly at home, mainly at the office, or will consider remote opportunities from across the UK.

Time

Either in or out of office hours

Causes

  • Any

Type of role

Ongoing role, Short term project, Trustee/Governor

About me

I have a very broad experience in digital design, all the way from print layouts, web design, digital display advertising, and mobile app design to creating award winning integrated media campaigns. I love typography and interface design, but I don’t mind doing the boring stuff like powerpoint templates, infographics and technical diagrams and I always make the tea, even if it’s not my turn. 

I am married with 2 children. My wife is a fashion forecaster. My daughter was going to get married last week but that has been delayed for obvious reasons. My son has a place at Manchester University to study Japanese which might start in September

We are both interested in fashion, art and architecture, particularly social architecture. I am currently working on a set of playing cards about social changes in the East End of London where my Grandfather, the son of German immigrants, was born in 1881, less than half a mile from Homerton Hospital where my own children were born.

I tested HIV positive in 1993 and 1996 was given 6 months to live. In 2016 I underwent laser eye surgery to remove cataracts that had developed as a result of the HIV medication that kept me alive for 20 years. Since then I have been trying to make the best of life, but perhaps the time has come to pay something back. I am also keen to get involved with mental health issues which have dogged me long after I regained good physical health.

What am I looking for

Roles/skills

Design, Ideas, Writing, Data input, leafleting, bicycle courier, making tea (or coffee)

Causes

Mental Health, Visual Impairment, Hearing Loss, Social Work, Green Issues