Take down your opportunity

If you are not currently recruiting, it’s important that you take down your opportunity so that volunteers don’t apply.

You may wish to take down your opportunity temporarily – if you are going on holiday or if you want to put a pause on recruitment for any reason – in which case you can suspend the opportunity. If you are finished recruiting, you should close the opportunity.

Why suspend your opportunity

Suspending your opportunity allows you to remove it from the site temporarily. You may wish to do this if 

  • You will be on holiday and unable to acknowledge applications 
  • You have received some applications and don’t want to receive any more until you’ve reviewed your current potential volunteers
  • Changes in your organisation’s priorities mean you need to put a pause on recruiting

How to suspend your opportunity

  • If you are logged in, go to your dashboard by clicking “your account” at the top right of the screen. Otherwise, log in and you should be taken straight to your dashboard.
  • Go to “Manage opportunities”
  • Find the opportunity you wish to suspend. You can only suspend roles with an Available status.
  • Click the “Suspend” button (the one with the clock!).
  • When you are ready to reactivate your role (put it back online) click the “Activate” button (the one with the green check box.) Or, if you are finished recruiting for the role, click the Close button (the one with red x) and this will bring the role down for good.
     

When to close your opportunity

You should close your opportunity when you are finished with recruitment. You can’t reopen a closed opportunity from your dashboard – but our service team can help you if you’ve closed it by mistake! You can also clone a closed role, if you want to post a similar role to one you’ve previously had.

How to close your opportunity

  • If you are logged in, go to your dashboard by clicking “your account” at the top right of the screen. Otherwise, log in and you should be taken straight to your dashboard.
  • Go to “Manage opportunities”
  • Find the opportunity you wish to close. You can only suspend roles with an Available or Suspended status.
  • Click the “Close” button (the one with the red cross).

You can’t close an opportunity if there are outstanding applications, so if this is the case, you will receive an alert asking you to close off (ie mark as placed, placed other or not placed) any open applications.

More in this section

Help

If you have any questions about getting in touch or how use the website, this is the place to start.

Changing your details

Details on how to reset your password, or change your email preferences, volunteer profile or organisation profile.

How do applications work?

Communication is a key to the success of the Reach community. Organisations and volunteers need to keep each other -- and Reach -- up-to-date as an application progresses.

Posting an opportunity

How to post an opportunity, for new and existing organisations, and how to close them down when they are no longer available.

Adding colleagues to your organisation

Some organisations find it useful to have more than one contact recruiting through the same organisation profile on Reach.

Keeping your information private

How to keep your personal information private.